The Eightfold Path 

is the knowledge of the Four Noble Truths. In other words, it is the understanding of oneself as one really is.

The keynote of Buddhism is this Right Understanding. Buddhism, as such, is based on knowledge and not on unreasonable belief.


are threefold. They are:
  • The thoughts of renunciation which are opposed to sense-pleasures.
  • Kind Thoughts which are opposed to ill will.
  • Thoughts of harmlessness which are opposed to cruelty. These tend to purify the mind.
deals with refraining from falsehood, stealing, slandering, harsh words and frivolous talks


deals with refraining from killing, stealing and lack of chastity. It helps one to develop a character that is self-controlled and mindful of rights of others.

deals with the five kinds of trades that should be avoided by a lay disciple. They are:
  • trade in deadly weapons
  • trade in animals for slaughter
  • trade in slavery
  • trade in intoxicants
  • trade in poisons
Right Livelihood means earning one's living in a way that is not harmful to others.


is fourfold, namely:
  • the endeavor to discard evil that has already arisen.
  • the endeavor to prevent the arising of evil.
  • the endeavor to develop that good which has already arisen.
  • the endeavor to promote that good which has not already arisen.
Effort is needed to cultivate Good Conduct or develop one's mind, because we are often distracted or tempted to take the easy way out of things. The Buddha teaches that attaining happiness and Enlightenment depends upon one's own efforts. Effort is the root of all achievement. If one wants to get to the top of a mountain, just sitting at the foot thinking about it will not bring one there. It is by making the effort of climbing up the mountain, step by step, that eventually the summit is reached. Thus, no matter how great the Buddha's achievement may be, or how excellent His Teaching is, one must put the Teaching into practice before desired results can be obtained.


is also fourfold:
  • mindfulness with regard to body
  • mindfulness with regard to feeling
  • mindfulness with regard to mind
  • mindfulness with regard to mental objects.
Right Mindfulness is the awareness of one's deeds, words and thoughts.



Tamamama-tasama Patima Sapi

Mitama sapi
Sapi pisa 'mata' patima timi, tima pisa sapi pisa tasati pami.

Mitama tasama.
Tasama pisa ansapita pisi sipita pimita.
Sapa tasama ansapita pisi antimi tasama.
Tasama pisa sapa mamita ansapa. Tisapi mapi tasama.

Mitima satima.
Ansapita pisi ampimita anmitama, anmitama tapi mati antimi satima.

Mitima sipa.
Ansapita pisi timi mami. Sipa tima-tasama tasati.

Mitima mami.
Tasati pima:
Anmitama tapi pipa antapi ampimita ansapita.
Anmitama tapi pipa antapi mama sipasi anmami.
Anmitama tapi pipa antapi amtasati.
Anmitama tapi pipa antapi antimi mipi.
Anmitama tapi pipa antapi  antimi mipa.

Mitima misa-mimita.
Misa-mimita sasisa si sasa-tasama. Sisi-tasama sasisa ansita sapita.

Mitima amtasama.
Amtasama pisa sati-tasati.
Amtasama pisa tasami.
Amtasama pisa tima.
Amtasama tasama-pimita.

Mitima patima tasama


© Paul Freeman (2011) 

This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola